Welcome to the BGIS Blog!

This is my first blog post, so here’s a little bit about my vision for the blog. I have playing music for over, well, over 40 years and teaching bass guitar and double bass for over 30.  I’ve had lots of great students over the years, many of which have made lucrative careers for themselves as bass players in many genres of music. I have taught everyone from complete beginners to very advanced students, ages 6 to I’m not sure just how old they were, and all styles of bass playing. I’ve had taught music theory to most and improvisation in rock, and jazz to many of them. If you want to learn more about playing bass guitar, you’re at the right place. The main points of my teaching philosophy are:

  1. What sets apart one bass player from another is the tone they produce on the instrument, what makes a memorable bass player is the tone he gets.
  2. That tone has far more to do with how you play the instrument than the equipment you use.
  3. All bass players can improve their tone greatly with a few simple principles.
  4. A mediocre bass can sound very good with the right tonal technique approach and a great bass will sound fantastic by applying these principles.

There will also a question and answer section as soon I figure out how to set it up in WordPress. There you will be able to ask any questions regarding playing bass guitar and get them answered publicly or privately.

Away we go….

About Dwight Mabe

I've playing music since the age of 5...a really, really long time. I've been teaching bass guitar and double bass for over 30 years, writing about music and bass guitar for nearly as long.
This entry was posted in Introduction and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

