I’m Back!! Catching Up….

Jack Bruce Announcement3It has been quite a while since I posted anything here and for that, I am sorry. Life just got a little busy and I kept putting off until I did nothing.

It has been quite a year so far. We lost lots of great musicians in the last year, most notably were Jack Bruce and Clark Terry.

Jack Bruce’s contribution to the bass guitar and music overall is immeasurable. The first time I heard the live version of Crossroads on the radio on the way home from school, I was hooked on bass. I was able hear all the bass part and it was counterpoint to everything the guitar part did (and that’s no small potatoes since it was Eric Clapton). Rest in peace, Jack.

clarkterry300I was honored and privileged to play with the great jazz trumpeter Clark Terry while I was in college in the late 70s. He did a concert and a clinic with Jazz Ensemble I at UNC-G, at that time under the direction of Ray Gariglio. Ray knew Clark Terry from their time together in the Tonight Show band. I learned more than I ever thought I could with Clark in just a few short minutes. He made some suggestions to me and waited for me to assimilate them right then and there. I was hooked on jazz from then on out. He was a vibrant and brightly shining musician and had a mission to educate and mentor as many young jazz musicians as possible. His long and fruitful life bears witness to that commitment. Clark, tell Big Prez we said Hi!

I’ll have a new lesson  special up tomorrow, so keep in touch.

Dwight

 

 

About Dwight Mabe

I've playing music since the age of 5...a really, really long time. I've been teaching bass guitar and double bass for over 30 years, writing about music and bass guitar for nearly as long.
This entry was posted in News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

