Why Summer is a Great Time for Lessons

There are quite a few reasons for taking lessons in the summer, none the least of which is the fact that the weather is better. Having taught students with a wide variety of ages for a few decades now, it seems that most school-age kids tend to take the summer off from lessons. But there is a different way to look at it.

Granted, most school-age people that I teach are playing in a school orchestra, band or jazz band. In this situation, most have music that they need help with in their school ensembles. This is in addition to the already crowded schedules that most of them have. During the summer, their schedule thins out considerably. Although it is a “resting” time for most, the ones who are truly interested would love to have that time for lessons and practice without the pressure of the day-to-day class schedule.

The adults I teach generally do want some vacation time in the summer, especially for families. And so do I. But the schedule is less crowded, making more suitable times available for lessons.

So consider taking lessons in the summer – for yourself or your kids. To sweeten the idea, I’m having a first lesson free for all lessons, in-studio, Skype, etc. Just sign up for 4 lessons and the first one is free – in other words, 4 for the price of 3. See prices and further lesson information at this link. The fastest way to get in touch with me is email – dwightmabe@gmail.com.

Looking forward to seeing some of you this summer!

About Dwight Mabe

I've playing music since the age of 5...a really, really long time. I've been teaching bass guitar and double bass for over 30 years, writing about music and bass guitar for nearly as long.
This entry was posted in Advanced, Basics, Intermediate, News, Tips and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Why Summer is a Great Time for Lessons

  1. I love this! I love summer lessons! Espically the fact that my teacher is also still a music student (university) and the lessons are so much more relaxed. I can also plan a lesson whenever- instead of Sundays only. Plus I have so many more hours to practice before I started getting jobs in the summer. With a job its hard to practice haha. I guess that’s growing up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

